Sarah G wins big, Rey Valera honored in MYX Music Awards

SarahPopstar princess Sarah Geronimo added four more trophies to her growing collection while singer-songwriter Rey Valera took home the MYX Magna, the highest recognition given by the music channel to honor a music icon’s significant contribution to the industry, when the tenth MYX Music Awards recently concluded at the SM Aura Premier Samsung Hall.

Sarah G. personally received her trophies for Favorite Artist, Favorite Female Artist, Favorite Remake for Maybe This Time, and Favorite Music Video for Tayo directed by Avid Liongoren, further increasing her MYX Music Awards’ winning record from 19 to 23. The Voice of the Philippines coach, who also performed her hit song Kilometro in one of the event’s highly-charged production numbers before winning back-to-back Favorite Artist, acknowledged the support of her fans and shared her victories to her fellow nominees.

Meanwhile, Valera, who has composed hit songs for Sharon Cuneta and Rico J. Puno, among others, joined an elite list of Magna awardees including Cuneta (2006), Apo Hiking Society (2007), Gary Valenciano (2008), Eraserheads (2009), Jose Mari Chan (2010), Regine Velasquez (2011), Ryan Cayabyab (2012), Lea Salonga (2013), and Parokya ni Edgar (2014).

Vina Morales, Christian Bautista, Kyla, Erik Santos, Angeline Quinto, KZ Tandingan, and Richard Poon paid tribute to the hitmaker by singing his most notable compositions such as Kahit Maputi Na Ang Buhok Ko, Tayong Dalawa, Maging Sino Ka Man, Kung Kailangan Mo Ako, and Pangako Sa ‘Yo.

Gloc9Gloc-9 added two more MMA trophies to his name by winning Favorite Urban Video for Businessman featuring Vinci Montaner of PnE and directed by J. Pacena II, and Favorite Collaboration for Takipsilim with Regine Velasquez-Alcasid. The rapper, who now tails Sarah G. at far second with 16 awards, is all praises and very grateful to his recent collaborator Velasquez-Alcasid for agreeing to record the song with him in the studio.

Teen star Daniel Padilla also won two awards, Favorite Male Artist and Favorite Song for Simpleng Tulad Mo. Kathryn Bernardo bagged the award for Favorite Guest Appearance in a Music Video for appearing in her on-screen partner’s music video.

Silent Sanctuary bagged the Favorite Group award, Kamikazee’s Kislap directed by the band won Favorite Rock Video, Julie Anne San Jose’s Right Where You Belong directed by Louie Ignacio topped the Favorite Mellow Video category, James Reid and Nadine Lustre took home the Favorite Media Soundtrack award for No Erase, and The Voice Kids finalist Darren Espanto became the youngest winner by emerging as the Favorite New Artist.

Nikki Gil2NE1’s Come Back Home and Taylor Swift’s Shake It Off are the only foreign winners, bagging the Favorite K-Pop Video and Favorite International Video awards, respectively. Toni Gonzaga was selected Favorite MYX Celebrity VJ for her July 2014 stint while VJ Nikki Gil won the SPINNR Choice Award. MYX VJs Robi Domingo, Tippy Dos Santos, Diego Loyzaga, Chino Lui Pio, Ai dela Cruz, Erica Abella, and Gil hosted the event.

The winners were determined after the voting period set from February 19, 7 p.m., to March 22, 11:59 p.m. through four platforms, namely the MYX website, Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. Criteria for winning is 60 percent from fan votes and 40 percent from artist poll.