Ties, triple winners dominate PASADO awards

The 17th Gawad Sining-Sine was a night of triple ties and dual winners as the Pampelikulang Samahan ng mga Dalubguro (PASADO), a non-stock, non-profit organization of private and public school teachers and college professors, handed out their awards for outstanding film and media achievements at the San Sebastian College-Recoletos auditorium in Manila.

Nora Aunor tied with herself for Best Actress for her performances in Hustisya and Dementia. Her daughter Lotlot De Leon and director Perci Intalan accepted the trophies on her behalf as she was in Malaysia to receive the AIFFA Lifetime Achievement Award.

Lotlot Gretchen IzaDe Leon also shared the Best Supporting Actress award for her role in Kubot: The Aswang Chronicles 2 with Gretchen Barretto (The Trial) and Iza Calzado (Starting Over Again).

Similarly, Intalan (Dementia) ended up in a triple tie with Arnel Mardoquio (Alienasyon) and Jason Paul Laxamana (Magkakabaung) for Best Director while their respective films were also declared co-winners of the Best Picture award.

JM De GuzmanJM De Guzman (That Thing Called Tadhana) also shared Best Actor honors with Allen Dizon (Magkakabaung) and John Lloyd Cruz (The Trial). De Guzman personally received his trophy. Dizon’s daughters accepted the award on his behalf. Cruz was absent.

Laxamana and co-writer/producer Ferdinand Lapuz (Magkakabaung) tied with scriptwriter Ricky Lee (Hustisya) for Best Story. In addition, Laxamana was declared Best Screenplay co-winner with Antoinette Jadaone (That Thing Called Tadhana).

Other ties were between Carlo Manatad (The Trial) and Vanessa de Leon (Hustisya) for Best Editing, Mackie Galvez (Dementia) and Rain Yamson II (Magkakabaung) for Best Cinematography, and Magkakabaung and Dementia for Best Use of Language in Film.

Richard GomezUnanimous winners were Richard Gomez (The Trial) for Best Supporting Actor, Rom Factolerin (Alienasyon) for Best Production Design, Addiss Tabong (Dementia) for Best Sound, Cesar Francis Concio (Starting Over Again) for Best Music, and Miggs Cuaderno (Asintado) for Best Child Performer.

Natatanging Gawad PASADO trophies were also handed out to Bimby Aquino Yap (PinakaPASADOng Huwarang Bata sa Larangan ng Edukasyon at Sining), Gerald Santos and Atom AraulloJanella Salvador (PinakaPASADOng Dangal ng Kabataan), Atty. Persida Acosta (PinakaPASADONG Lingkod Bayan), Nestor Cuartero (PinakaPASADOng Guro sa
Komunikasyong Pangmadla), and ABS-CBN reporter Atom Araullo and GMA-7 news anchor, public affairs program host, and reporter Jessica Soho (PinakaPASADOng Mamamahayag sa Larangan ng Kamalayang Pilipino).

Composer, musician, and conductor Ryan Cayabyab, recipient of the PASADO Lifetime Achievement Award, was a no-show at the awarding ceremonies like veterans Lee and Soho.

PASADO president Dr. Emmanuel Gonzales explained that when nominees end up with the same number of votes, their organization has decided not to break ties or triple ties anymore.